CPS Will Have Three New Board Members in January

November 3, 2021

By Cory Sharber, 91.7 WVXU

Cincinnati Public Schools will have three new board members in January following Tuesday's election.

Mary Wineberg, Kareem Moffett and Brandon Craig were the top vote getters, along with incumbent Mike Moroski. Moroski is the lone incumbent to retain his position after candidate and current CPS Board Member Pamela Bowers finished fifth, losing her seat on the board come January.

Wineberg emerged as the top vote getter with more than 35,000, which left her with a feeling of pride Tuesday evening.

"I'm excited to go out and prove to them that I can be the leader and I can be the board member that they want and they elected me to be," Wineberg said.

She says she looks forward to helping the district select its next superintendent and collaborating with the other new board members. Wineberg has worked as an educator for over a decade. She attended Walnut Hills High School, and then earned degrees at the University of Cincinnati and Mount Saint Joseph University. In 2008, Wineberg won a gold medal in the 4x400 meter relay at the Summer Olympics in Beijing, becoming the University of Cincinnati’s first African American woman to win a gold medal.

Mike Moroski emerged as the only incumbent to retain his position. As the current chair of the Policy and Equity Committee, he's looking forward to continuing his work, noting the impact the new members will have going forward, specifically the ongoing COVID-19 vaccine mandate discussions.

"If it gets voted, which I think it will ultimately, I don't think it's going to happen under this current board," Moroski said. "I think it's going to happen under the new board."

He says the board has a plan to help the new members transition as they'll be taking part in selecting a new superintendent. Moroski has been serving on the Cincinnati Public Schools Board of Education since 2018. He's received degrees from both Xavier University and the University of Notre Dame. He currently works at the Human Services Chamber of Hamilton County and serves as a trustee for Camp Joy. He's previously served as the executive director of UpSpring; as a teacher at Moeller High School; and as assistant principal at Purcell Marian High School.

Kareem Moffett emerged as the third leading vote getter. Moffett says she's looking forward to working on connecting the students and the community with the school board.

"All of our schools have magnificent greatness in them and I want to help the community see that and help our kids see that too," Moffett said.

She previously ran in 2017. Moffett has worked as a chemist, an academic advisor and as director of diversity programs and services at Ursuline Academy of Cincinnati. She attended the University of Cincinnati, earning a Ph.D. in educating urban African American students. Within Cincinnati Public Schools, Moffett taught math and science at John P. Parker School and South Avondale School. Along with teaching math and science at Withrow High School, she also taught 10th grade geophysics.

Brandon Craig will also be on the school board next year. He has not replied to WVXU's requests for interviews. Craig attended Walnut Hills High School before graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics from UC and Juris Doctor from the UC College of Law. Previously, he's worked in the Public Affairs Office and the General Counsel's Office at Cincinnati Public Schools. Recently, Craig has worked for Housing Opportunities Made Equal of Greater Cincinnati and the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access at the University of Cincinnati.

Pamela Bowers did not retain her spot on the Board of Education, finishing fifth in voting. She has been on the board since 2019.

Current Board Vice President Ryan Messer and Board Member Melanie Bates elected not to run for another term. Board President Carolyn Jones and members Eve Bolton and Ben Lindy's terms don't expire until December 31, 2024.

Candidates ran on platforms including the district's response to COVID-19, transportation and students' learning loss.

Below are the results of Tuesday's election via the Hamilton County Board of Elections (winners in bold):

Bowers — 11.94%
Craig — 18.88%
Gary Favors — 7.77%
Moffett — 18.92%
Moroski — 19.47%
Wineberg — 23.03%

Full story and photos at WVXU.org